Jump to content


Photo

NO LONGER CLEANING CHOSEN CACHE


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Wesley909

Wesley909

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 03 October 2017 - 02:45 PM

In the last few weeks Wise DC has turned into a pile of rubbish. Despite settings having every single piece of internet cache set to be deleted (except only for saved form and passwords for Firefox) it is failing to delete 80% of Firefox and Opera cache. I now have to rely on CCleaner to do the job properly.

 

My system: Win 10 64 bit laptop
WDC Version installed 9.5.6.678


  • AnthonyPoelf, RobertPhesk, LiluunaApake and 1 other like this

#2 xilolee

xilolee

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 4,325 posts

Posted 04 October 2017 - 01:32 PM

Hi Wesley909. :)
 
I made a quick test with both (only firefox entries enabled).
CCleaner found 60 files and 6 cookies.
WiseDiskCleaner found 56 files and 4 cookies.
Imo, not a big difference.

280jg4x.jpg

ccleaner found these (WDC didn't find them) and some cookies:
  • index.sqlite
  • cookies.sqlite-shm
  • cookies.sqlite-wal
  • formhistory.sqlite
  • permissions.sqlite
  • sessionCheckpoints.json
WDC found this (ccleaner didn't find it): content-prefs.sqlite

Later, I fixed those items with WDC, then analysed again with ccleaner and it didn't find the items removed by WDC (it found the items that WDC didn't find, obviously).
 
Using Win10STD x64, firefox 56.0 x64, WDC 9.5.6.678 portable and Piriform CCleaner 5.35.6210 free portable.
I am not a Wise employee, but an helper made moderator.

#3 Wesley909

Wesley909

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 October 2017 - 09:05 AM

I have tested both cleaners again and these screen shots are after a very short period of surfing the net. The shortfall in WDC cleaning is very significant. Much more than your examples.
I emphasise that this is a very recent discrepancy so clearly something has changed in WDC.

Attached Files



#4 xilolee

xilolee

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 4,325 posts

Posted 05 October 2017 - 10:06 AM

I'm using the portable version, but I have now tried the installed one.
It also finds firefox cache.

Did you already try these ones?

  • uninstall WDC
  • check if "C:\Program Files (x86)\Wise\Wise Disk Cleaner" folder is still present (it should be removed by the uninstallation).
    If present, delete it.
  • check if "C:\Users\YourWindowsAccountName\AppData\Roaming\Wise Disk Cleaner" folder is still present (it should be removed by the uninstallation).
    If present, delete it.
  • Reinstall WDC

I am not a Wise employee, but an helper made moderator.

#5 Wesley909

Wesley909

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 October 2017 - 11:48 AM

I've used both versions and WDC is still not cleaning even 30% of the cache selected in these past three weeks.

I have tried a total clean uninstall, system restart, check folders, reinstall.

Makes no difference.



#6 xilolee

xilolee

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 4,325 posts

Posted 05 October 2017 - 12:18 PM

Did you also try wise care 365 (free)?


6i6ssx.jpg
I am not a Wise employee, but an helper made moderator.

#7 Wesley909

Wesley909

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 October 2017 - 03:12 PM

That suggestion defeats the object of this thread.

 

EDIT: Just to humour the suggestion I installed Wise Care and lo and behold after running the Common Cleaner with the same settings, it found just 11mb of cleaning. CCleaner found a further 146mb.



#8 xilolee

xilolee

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 4,325 posts

Posted 06 October 2017 - 10:38 AM

Well, that's a strange behaviour.

Let's wait for wisecleaner team...


I am not a Wise employee, but an helper made moderator.

#9 wisecleaner_admin

wisecleaner_admin

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 2,176 posts

Posted 12 October 2017 - 08:15 AM

Thanks xilolee.

 

Hi Wesley909, thanks for you feedback.

We did many tests in 6 computers, there were only small differences between Wise Disk Cleaner and CCleaner.

Can I remote to your PC to check it?

Thanks.


We want to put smile on your face.   :)

 

Any feature questions and ideas, please feel free to contact us!

-----

News: Merry Christmas. 

 

christmas-2017.png

-----

Best Regards,

WiseCleaner.com

Follow us on:

facebook.png  Twitter.png  g+32.png  YouTube_32x32.png  linkedin_32x32.png


#10 Wesley909

Wesley909

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 12 October 2017 - 08:26 AM

Here are two screenshots of cleaning I ran a few moments ago showing that Wise Disk Cleaner found about 12mb, CCleaner found 94mb. Both had exactly the same settings for what cache to remove.

I don't allow remote access to my system I'm afraid.Attached File  Wise.jpg   122.92K   4 downloadsAttached File  Ccleaner.jpg   129.15K   4 downloads



#11 wisecleaner_admin

wisecleaner_admin

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 2,176 posts

Posted 13 October 2017 - 07:39 AM

Understood.

Please send scaning reports to us, we will try to check the difference between Wise Disk Cleaner and CCleaner.

(Please only scan Firefox!)

 

Attached File  wdc-export.png   78.95K   6 downloads  Attached File  cc-export.png   57.22K   4 downloads


We want to put smile on your face.   :)

 

Any feature questions and ideas, please feel free to contact us!

-----

News: Merry Christmas. 

 

christmas-2017.png

-----

Best Regards,

WiseCleaner.com

Follow us on:

facebook.png  Twitter.png  g+32.png  YouTube_32x32.png  linkedin_32x32.png


#12 Wesley909

Wesley909

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 14 October 2017 - 04:04 PM

Looks even worse now:

 

Attached Files



#13 wisecleaner_admin

wisecleaner_admin

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 2,176 posts

Posted 16 October 2017 - 07:59 AM

Please download Custom.ini and paste it to Wise Disk Cleaner installation folder

When you run Wise Disk Cleaner, you will see the additional test entry.

Attached File  wdc.png   31.52K   2 downloads

Attached File  UserCustom.zip   662bytes   1 downloads


We want to put smile on your face.   :)

 

Any feature questions and ideas, please feel free to contact us!

-----

News: Merry Christmas. 

 

christmas-2017.png

-----

Best Regards,

WiseCleaner.com

Follow us on:

facebook.png  Twitter.png  g+32.png  YouTube_32x32.png  linkedin_32x32.png


#14 Wesley909

Wesley909

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 16 October 2017 - 12:52 PM


Please download Custom.ini and paste it to Wise Disk Cleaner installation folder

When you run Wise Disk Cleaner, you will see the additional test entry.

attachicon.gifwdc.png

attachicon.gifUserCustom.zip

Thanks. I did that and that files shows in my WDC as it does in your screen shot.

It still finds almost no Firefox cache, as before, compared to CCleaner Slim.



#15 wisecleaner_admin

wisecleaner_admin

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 2,176 posts

Posted 17 October 2017 - 06:14 AM

Please open a folder, type this path %appdata%, find and remove this folder Wise Disk Cleaner.

Then try to scan Firefox cache again.

Thanks.


We want to put smile on your face.   :)

 

Any feature questions and ideas, please feel free to contact us!

-----

News: Merry Christmas. 

 

christmas-2017.png

-----

Best Regards,

WiseCleaner.com

Follow us on:

facebook.png  Twitter.png  g+32.png  YouTube_32x32.png  linkedin_32x32.png


#16 Wesley909

Wesley909

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 17 October 2017 - 07:50 PM

I did try that originally. But I have tried that again and it made no difference.



#17 wisecleaner_admin

wisecleaner_admin

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 2,176 posts

Posted 18 October 2017 - 07:12 AM

Hi,

Please download this file (WiseDiskCleaner20171017.zip), extract and paste them to wise disk cleaner installation folder to cover old files.

Run Wise Disk  Cleaner to scan, it will create a log file named wdclog.txt in %appdata%\Wise Disk Cleaner

Then open this folder %appdata%\Wise Disk Cleaner, send wdclog.txt to us.

Thanks.


We want to put smile on your face.   :)

 

Any feature questions and ideas, please feel free to contact us!

-----

News: Merry Christmas. 

 

christmas-2017.png

-----

Best Regards,

WiseCleaner.com

Follow us on:

facebook.png  Twitter.png  g+32.png  YouTube_32x32.png  linkedin_32x32.png


#18 Wesley909

Wesley909

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 02 November 2017 - 10:39 AM

Thanks for the below and work issues caused a delay in replying.

Sadly, I have tried this three times now the last two times with every bit of security (including Windows Smart Screen) disabled. I get the error message in this screenshot:

Hi,

Please download this file (WiseDiskCleaner20171017.zip), extract and paste them to wise disk cleaner installation folder to cover old files.

Run Wise Disk  Cleaner to scan, it will create a log file named wdclog.txt in %appdata%\Wise Disk Cleaner

Then open this folder %appdata%\Wise Disk Cleaner, send wdclog.txt to us.

Thanks.

 

Attached Files



#19 wisecleaner_admin

wisecleaner_admin

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 2,176 posts

Posted 07 November 2017 - 07:41 AM

:(

Please try this new file: WiseDiskCleaner20171107.zip


We want to put smile on your face.   :)

 

Any feature questions and ideas, please feel free to contact us!

-----

News: Merry Christmas. 

 

christmas-2017.png

-----

Best Regards,

WiseCleaner.com

Follow us on:

facebook.png  Twitter.png  g+32.png  YouTube_32x32.png  linkedin_32x32.png


#20 Wesley909

Wesley909

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 07 November 2017 - 09:52 AM

That ran and here is the log:

 

:(

Please try this new file: WiseDiskCleaner20171107.zip

 

Attached Files