Jump to content
Zangune

Registry keys left after uninstallation leave an useless "destroy file/folder" option in the contextual menu

Recommended Posts

Greetings, the Wise Care 365 3.9.5 uninstaller leaves at least these registry keys:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\WShredFile
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\WShredFile
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\*\shell\WShredFile
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\Folder\shell\WShredFile

because of this, if you right-click on a file in the desktop, you still can read the "destroy file/folder" option (please note that I translated "destroy file/folder" from italian), even if the program is uninstalled.

 

My operating system is Windows XP service pack 3 italian.

I tried the "Giveaway of the Day" 3.9.5 version.

I tried to make the application portable before uninstalling.

A reboot did not help.

 

Regards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The products of "Wise" to leave a lot of unnecessary junk. When you use the "Wise Registry Cleaner", I have to improve: CCleaner and Baidu Cleaner.

Then I'm sure that I got rid of most of the garbage and not needed registry entries.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey borut,

Thanks for your feedback.

You said, Wise Care 365 3.9.5 uninstaller leaves at least these registry keys.

We have test it, when wise care 365 was uninstalled, these three registry keys were be removed together. But, if you run the portable version, these three registry key will be created again. You can check the registry key value, it will point to the portable version

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not a developer. :) Just check in the above mentioned programs (Baidu Cleaner, CCleaner), what paths are checked and what files have the redundant locations. Then add the rules checking unnecessary files and records to Wise Registry Cleaner, Wise Registry Cleaner, Wise 365.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you wisecleaner_admin.

I would like to suggest you to improve the portable version either removing these keys during the application closing or avoiding the portable version itself to add these keys at all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...