Jump to content


Photo

Is There A Simple Way to Paste URLs in a Message

URL Paste

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 garioch7

garioch7

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts
  • LocationPort Hood, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 29 January 2014 - 05:15 PM

I am a member of a number of Forums and have never had a problem pasting URLs in them, but there seems to a trick on this Forum that I do not understand.  I can type one in, no problem, but when I try to paste, nothing happens.  I have clicked on the URL icon, which brings up a Link screen, paste my URL, then hit OK, but the URL link screen just stays there and I have to close the webpage to regain control.  Of course, my response is long gone.

 

Just curious.  Have read the Forum rules and looked everywhere for an answer but it has eluded me.  I did see how to post screenshots, but not how to paste URLs, if that can be done on this Forum.

 

Thanks for any help you may be able to give this old man.  Have a great day.

 

Regards,

-Phil


  • UCanFixIt likes this

#2 UCanFixIt

UCanFixIt

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 500 posts

Posted 29 January 2014 - 09:10 PM

Hi Phil

 

I have the same issue when trying to use IE11 on Win 8.1. There is definitely a compatibility issue between IE11 and the forum software. I have not tried to determine the cause but the forum admins should look into it IMHO. Anyway, there are two workarounds for this issue:

 

Workaround #1 - Use Firefox 26 which doesn't have this issue.

Workaround #2 for IE11 users - See image below. Click the button circled below. Place your cursor a the point of insertion for the link. Right-click and paste the link. Click the button again to return to the normal mode.

 

Cheers!

 

UCanFixit

Attached Files


  • xilolee likes this

big_picture_all_1.jpg
 
Please include the following information when describing your problem:

  • A basic description of your system
  • Specific error codes and/or warnings received
  • Supporting screenshots: How to Post Screenshots
  • Any software or hardware that you recently installed or removed
  • Any recent changes that were made to the system
  • The amount of time that that you have experienced the problem
  • The things that you have already tried to troubleshoot the problem

Note: Failure to provide ALL relevant details may result in a complete misunderstanding of your problem.

like_signature_1.jpg


#3 UCanFixIt

UCanFixIt

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 500 posts

Posted 29 January 2014 - 09:33 PM

This is just a test of the above recommendation.

 

http://trainartworks.com/

 

Just wanted to make sure it works as suggested becaue I haven't used IE11 for quite some time. It works!


big_picture_all_1.jpg
 
Please include the following information when describing your problem:

  • A basic description of your system
  • Specific error codes and/or warnings received
  • Supporting screenshots: How to Post Screenshots
  • Any software or hardware that you recently installed or removed
  • Any recent changes that were made to the system
  • The amount of time that that you have experienced the problem
  • The things that you have already tried to troubleshoot the problem

Note: Failure to provide ALL relevant details may result in a complete misunderstanding of your problem.

like_signature_1.jpg


#4 xilolee

xilolee

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 4,346 posts

Posted 30 January 2014 - 12:23 AM

Yes, it's quite annoying using MSIE11 (I don't remember if MSIE10 had the same problem).
I'm using bbcodes directly ^_^


  • UCanFixIt likes this
I am not a Wise employee, but an helper made moderator.

#5 garioch7

garioch7

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts
  • LocationPort Hood, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 30 January 2014 - 01:30 PM

Thanks UCanFixit for your advice.  I don't have Firefox, but I do have Chrome since one of my major forums won't load correctly with IE11 and the company has done nothing to rectify the problem.

http://forum.wisecle...s-in-a-message/

Your IE11 workaround suggestion works well, UCanFixit. Indeed you can! Thank you. Have a great day.

Regards,
-Phil

#6 UCanFixIt

UCanFixIt

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 500 posts

Posted 30 January 2014 - 05:14 PM

Thanks Phil and welcome to the forum!

 

Regards,

 

UCanFixit


big_picture_all_1.jpg
 
Please include the following information when describing your problem:

  • A basic description of your system
  • Specific error codes and/or warnings received
  • Supporting screenshots: How to Post Screenshots
  • Any software or hardware that you recently installed or removed
  • Any recent changes that were made to the system
  • The amount of time that that you have experienced the problem
  • The things that you have already tried to troubleshoot the problem

Note: Failure to provide ALL relevant details may result in a complete misunderstanding of your problem.

like_signature_1.jpg


#7 David Bailey

David Bailey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 49 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 08 February 2014 - 04:17 AM

Hi Phil
 
Workaround #1 - Use Firefox 26 which doesn't have this issue.
 
 
Cheers!
 
UCanFixit
 
***********
 
Firefox 27 is out.

screenshot_162.png

 

Just joined.

Will make a profile next.

 

Wanted to inform about Firefox first. :)


  • UCanFixIt likes this

                                                                          Ganesha.jpg

                                                                                             The Remover of Obstacles

                                                                        

                                                                                              http://translate.google.com

                                                                                            

                                                                                             http://postimage.org

 

                                                                                             How to make screenshots & post them here in this forum:

 

                                                                                            http://forum.wisecle...ise-pc-1st-aid/