Jump to content
mattjs

Deletes ALL files in User Downloads without visible warning / option to change this!

Recommended Posts

It appears to delete ALL files in User Downloads without visible warning or option to change it!

This is nasty behaviour (I store much stuff on Public Downloads but fortunately only the User Folder appears to be touched)!

Indeed which option controls this as I cannot for the life of me find it!?

I would like to know about and use this as I do not wish to go back to the spamware and virus ridden CCleaner!

Thanks!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My Bad!: Its an option in Windows Disk Cleanup so do not check the "Downloads" option there. I don't remember this so it probably came with a Windows Update. Also be careful with Windows new Storage Sense which will do the same thing if you do not scrutinise its options carefully also.

I have taken two liberties of: Putting my (backed up) stuff into another C:\Downloads Folder (since I use Portable Apps off of C:\ also); Lastly the links between these folders (Desktop, Downloads, Public Downloads) which I wish to keep I have made read-only so they shouldn't get deleted by accident either.

Cheers!  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...