Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Does WC 365 Pro alter MS Word recent list

Word 2013

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 jgt1942

jgt1942

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 23 August 2015 - 08:58 AM

For several months my MS 2013 Word recent list and pinned list keep disappearing. Does WC 365 Pro alter the list? Often when I do have a recent list section some of the documents I have not opened in years. I've been trying to determine what application is at fault but so far I cannot determine what is altering the list(s). I'm running Win 8.1 x64 PRO and WC 365 Pro 3.8.2.

 

I just attempted to paste the two keys in the post but it will not. I've got the two keys in the clipboard, I right-click, select Paste but nothing is pasted. If I go to another webpage that has a form that I can complete I can past the keys in the form thus the issue seems to be with the WC forum? Or am I doing something wrong? As a workaround I entered XXX and then used the replace function, the keys follow-

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\15.0\Word\User MRU\LiveId_D6CF29E4B97077D0A76F7336D24E2C0D2CC2C35617F8F98E36F6D833C8F7EF13\Place MRU .

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\15.0\Word\User MRU\LiveId_D6CF29E4B97077D0A76F7336D24E2C0D2CC2C35617F8F98E36F6D833C8F7EF13\File MRU

 

The past ICON in the topic window does not work for me.

 

I was using IE as the browser, I just tried the past function using Chrome and it worked. Normally I use Chrome but when I clicked on the W icon in WC it opened IE rather than my default browser. 

 

I just checked the Exclusion list in WC and I see that Office has been excluded, based on this WC should not be modifying anything in office. Following is the exclusion.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\15.0\


  • PatrickAlkat, CraigAttak, Scottwinia and 5 others like this

#2 wisecleaner_admin

wisecleaner_admin

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 2,024 posts

Posted 25 August 2015 - 08:04 AM

Do you means the two Recent files? (image 1 and image 2)

Attached File  image1.png   42.29K   6 downloads  Attached File  image2.jpg   46.85K   5 downloads

 

Actually, wisecleaner doesn't clean it.

If not, please show me details.


We want to put smile on your face.   :)

 

Any feature questions and ideas, please feel free to contact us!

-----

News: Wise Folder Hider 4

 

Hide & Encrypt files/ folders, protect your privacy!

-----

Best Regards,

WiseCleaner.com

Follow us on:

facebook.png  Twitter.png  g+32.png  YouTube_32x32.png  linkedin_32x32.png


#3 jgt1942

jgt1942

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 25 August 2015 - 04:05 PM

Attached is an image of the recent word list that is being modified. Section A contains items I've pinned and section B contains the recent documents that have been opened. Both are being modified. The registry keys I posted in the previous post are (as I understand) the keys that contain info for the recent list in MS Word (I'm currently using version 2013). I'm more concerned about section A and sometimes use section B. Normally I'd have about 10-15 documents in section A.

 

Most of the time when using Word I open a new document differently than most people, e.g. In my file explorer (Xplorer2) I'm in the folder where I want to create a document, I right-click > select Explorer > New > select MS Word Document (or the type of document I want to create). I then seen an entry for a MS Word document. I apply the name I want for this document and open it. It opens with my default template and I then add the contents to the document. Sometimes when I'm researching something I might create several MS Word documents (10-30).

 

However if I need to modify an existing document that I have pinned in MS Word then in Word I click File > Open > Recent and from section A I select the desired document.

 

From your post I'm assuming that WC does not modify either of the registry keys I posted. Is this correct?

Attached Files



#4 wisecleaner_admin

wisecleaner_admin

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 2,024 posts

Posted 26 August 2015 - 08:04 AM

Yes, wisecleaner doesn't clean it whatever you pinned or not pinned.

You can do a test. open some documents, close them. then run wise cleaner to clean system, then reopen Word to check whether the Recent list has been cleaned.


We want to put smile on your face.   :)

 

Any feature questions and ideas, please feel free to contact us!

-----

News: Wise Folder Hider 4

 

Hide & Encrypt files/ folders, protect your privacy!

-----

Best Regards,

WiseCleaner.com

Follow us on:

facebook.png  Twitter.png  g+32.png  YouTube_32x32.png  linkedin_32x32.png


#5 jgt1942

jgt1942

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 26 August 2015 - 08:15 AM

Thanks for the confirmation. 



#6 wisecleaner_admin

wisecleaner_admin

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 2,024 posts

Posted 27 August 2015 - 09:21 AM

You're welcome!


We want to put smile on your face.   :)

 

Any feature questions and ideas, please feel free to contact us!

-----

News: Wise Folder Hider 4

 

Hide & Encrypt files/ folders, protect your privacy!

-----

Best Regards,

WiseCleaner.com

Follow us on:

facebook.png  Twitter.png  g+32.png  YouTube_32x32.png  linkedin_32x32.png


#7 etorkia

etorkia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 28 October 2016 - 08:44 PM

Sorry, I have been dealing with this for 18months. I disagree!!! The dude is right,  When you run the PC Checkup it WIPES OUT systematically the pinned files in all my office programs and even when I put registry key exclusions, it  also erases license keys for my excel add-ins who are also excluded. How do you fix this and please, your software does this even if you are unaware of the bug.

 

This bug is 100% reproducable. I am a paying, registered client. Maybe you may want to to a GoToMeeting to see it reproduced?

 

Thanks.



#8 xilolee

xilolee

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 4,247 posts

Posted 28 October 2016 - 10:47 PM

Hi etorkia. :)

Can you find ms office programs in menu, settings, custom checkup, useless files?

Or in menu, settings, custom checkup, computer traces?

If yes, untick them and re-try.


I am not a Wise employee, but an helper made moderator.

#9 etorkia

etorkia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 November 2016 - 10:40 PM

Hi Xilo:

 

I had searched and searched but there seems to be a new exclusion for Office (as you suggested)... that did it. Thanks!

 

Eric



#10 xilolee

xilolee

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 4,247 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 10:30 PM

;)


I am not a Wise employee, but an helper made moderator.